Shorts Jury Awards Prog.

Three jurors select winners of the awards listed below.

The shorts are screened and the filmmakers are recognized during this special program. Each award is accompanied by a $1,000 cash prize.



Rick Jackson – Rick Jackson is the weekday local voice and news anchor of NPR's Morning Edition on Cleveland's public radio station, 90.3 WCPN ideastream. He also hosts the Friday edition of the award-winning Sound of Ideas public affairs program on WCPN and its companion TV news program Ideas, on WVIZ/PBS ideastream. A former CBS News anchor and local television anchor in Cleveland, Memphis, and Charlotte, Jackson is a 35-year broadcast journalism veteran, honored dozens of times with NATAS, Associated Press, and National Communicators Awards and nominations. He is a 2001 inductee into Ohio's Broadcasting Hall of Fame. He resides outside Cleveland with his wife of 31 years, while their son is a Theatre Major and documentary producer at Fordham University in Manhattan, New York.


Pat Kearney – Pat Kearney has been a marketing professional for the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority (RTA) for over 30 years. And she has been a longtime supporter of the Cleveland International Film Festival, always promoting the use of public transit to and from Tower City Center. Shortly after accepting this volunteer position as a Juror this year, she remembered that she has history with the movie industry. Her grandmother worked for Continental Lithograph on East 72nd Street in the 1950s. They produced movie posters for theaters throughout the country. At Grandma's house for dinner on Sundays, Pat was allowed to choose some posters to take home. Pat sure wishes she had a few of those now!


Rob Smitherman – Rob Smitherman is currently the Associate Executive Director and Events Director for the 2014 Gay Games Cleveland + Akron. After 23 years as an attorney in a private practice in Virginia, Rob decided to change careers and moved into the less lucrative world of nonprofit gay sports events. He worked for the 2006 Gay Games in Chicago and the 2010 Gay Games in Cologne, Germany, before moving to Cleveland in 2012. This juror position is probably the first time Rob has ever been associated with the word "short" because he is six feet, seven inches tall.

Best Animated Short Award* - sponsored by Reminger Co., L.P.A.

Best Documentary Short Award - sponsored by Jules and Fran Belkin

Best International Short Award - sponsored by MP Star Financial, Inc.

Best LGBT Short Award: Given in Celebration of the Life of Nikki Babbit - sponsored by Jan and Harold Babbit

Best Live Action Short Award* - sponsored by Anne Bloomberg and Alan Gordon Lipson & Judy Harris

Best Ohio Short Award - sponsored by Wayside Furniture

Best Student Short Award - sponsored by MP Star Financial, Inc.

Best Women’s Short Award - sponsored by Jinny and John Johnson

The Clover and Maggie Award: In Celebration of Life - sponsored by Barbara Hawley and David Goodman

The Spalding and Jackson Award: In Celebration of Joy - sponsored by Marcie Goodman

Become A CIFF Member >

Become A CIFF Member

We have five different levels of membership to choose from, so find the one that best fits your film appetite!

38th CIFF Award Winners >

38th CIFF Award Winners

Look through the complete list of award winners from the 38th CIFF!

Sign up for our email newsletter

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
  • youtube
  • flickr
  • foursquare
  • iphone
  • android