Cleveland International Film Festival } March 29 – April 9, 2017 Presented by Dollar Bank

Shorts Jury Awards Program


Year: 2016
Country: International
Run Time: 80 minutes




Jenny Spencer – Jenny Spencer is Managing Director of Detroit Shoreway Community Development Organization (DSCDO). Jenny holds a Master's degree in Public Policy and Urban Planning from the Harvard Kennedy School and is an Economic Development Finance Professional with certification from the National Development Council. She previously worked as a U.S. Peace Corps Volunteer in Paraguay and is fluent in Spanish. Jenny and her husband Mario live in Detroit Shoreway's Franklin Boulevard Historic District.


Phyllis "Seven" Harris – Phyllis "Seven" Harris is a Cleveland native and has over two decades of leadership experience in local nonprofits. As Executive Director of The LGBT Center of Greater Cleveland, she plays a strong role as an advocate in Cleveland's LGBT community. Phyllis holds a Master's degree in Non-Profit Management from Case Western Reserve University and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Baldwin Wallace University. She lives in Shaker Heights and is the proud mother of two children.


Steve Gleydura – Steve Gleydura is the editor of Cleveland Magazine and Vice President of Editorial for Great Lakes Publishing Co. A graduate of John Carroll University, he joined the company as managing editor of Inside Business Magazine in 1999 and later served as editor. During his 15 years as editor at Cleveland Magazine, the publication has been honored as Best Magazine in Ohio by both the Press Club of Cleveland and Society of Professional Journalists while earning national awards from Folio and the City and Regional Magazine
Association. He lives with his wife Kathleen and their three children in Cleveland's West Park neighborhood.

Our three jurors select winners of the awards listed below. The shorts are screened and the filmmakers are recognized during this special program. Each award is accompanied by a $1,000 cash prize.

Best Animated Short Award* - sponsored by Reminger Co., L.P.A.

Best Comedy Short Award - endowed by David K. Ream

Best Documentary Short Award* - sponsored by Jules and Fran Belkin

Best International Short Award - sponsored by MP Star Financial

Best LGBT Short Award: Given in Celebration of the Life of Nikki Babbit - sponsored by Jan and Harold Babbit

Best Live Action Short Award* - sponsored by Anne Bloomberg and Alan Gordon Lipson & Judy Harris

Best Ohio Short Award - sponsored by Ulmer & Berne

Best Student Short Award - sponsored by MP Star Financial

Best Women’s Short Award - sponsored by Jinny and John Johnson

The Clover and Maggie Award: In Celebration of Life - sponsored by Barbara Hawley and David Goodman

The Spalding and Jackson Award: In Celebration of Joy - sponsored by Marcie Goodman and John C. Williams

*These award winners will qualify for consideration in the Short Films category of the annual Academy Awards.®

Shorts Jury Awards Program

CIFF41 Screenings

Tower City Cinemas

Sunday, April 09, 2017 at 11:15 AM

Questions? >


Check out our FAQs for answers to common questions about entering the film festival.

Become A CIFF Member >

Become A CIFF Member

We have seven different levels of membership to choose from, so find the one that best fits your film appetite!

Sign up for our email newsletter

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
  • youtube
  • flickr
  • foursquare