Cleveland International Film Festival } April 7 – April 18, 2021 } Playhouse Square

Leave No Trace


Year: 2017
Country: USA
Run Time: 108 minutes

Leave No Trace
Leave No Trace
Leave No Trace

For years Will and his teenage daughter, Tom, have lived off the grid, blissfully undetected by authorities in a vast nature reserve on the edge of Portland, Oregon. When a chance encounter blows their cover, they’re removed from their camp and put into the charge of social services. Struggling to adapt to their new surroundings, Will and Tom set off on a perilous journey back to the wilderness, where they are finally forced to confront conflicting desires—a longing for community versus a fierce need to live apart. With LEAVE NO TRACE, Debra Granik proves once again she is an extraordinary filmmaker and a beacon for actors. Ben Foster is exceptional as Will, and with Tom, Granik again displays her singular knack for finding a relatively unknown actress and entrusting her with the role of a lifetime. Granik did it with “Winter’s Bone” which starred a then-unknown Jennifer Lawrence. The similarly dazzling newcomer Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie is radiant as Tom, a girl coming of age in atypical circumstances. —Sundance Film Festival

CIFF42 Screenings

Tower City Cinemas

Thursday, April 12, 2018 at 4:20 PM

Saturday, April 14, 2018 at 6:15 PM

American Independents Competition
ReelWomenDirect Award for Excellence in Directing by a Woman

Debra Granik

Debra Granik was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1963. She received a B.A. from Brandeis University in 1985, where she majored in politics. Granik later earned an M.F.A. from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts. In 2011 her film “Winter’s Bone” was nominated for an Academy Award®. Her film “Stray Dog” was the winner of the Nesnadny + Schwartz Documentary Competition at CIFF39.

Down to the Bone (2004)–CIFF29, Winter's Bone (2010), Stray Dog (2014)–CIFF39, LEAVE NO TRACE (2018)

Anne Harrison, Linda Reisman, Anne Rosellini

Debra Granik, Anne Rosellini

Michael McDonough

Jane Rizzo

Principal Cast
Ben Foster, Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Jeff Kober, Dale Dickey

Print Source
Questions? >


Check out our FAQs for answers to common questions about entering the film festival.

Donate >


Your donation helps fulfill our mission to promote artistically and culturally significant film arts through education and exhibition.

Sign up for our email newsletter

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
  • youtube
  • flickr
  • alexa
  • foursquare



We promise you, it will make a difference!

Give Today