Cleveland International Film Festival } March 25 – April 5, 2020 } Tower City Cinemas

Shorts Jury Awards Program

Three jurors select winners of the awards listed below.

The shorts are screened and the filmmakers are recognized during this special program. Each award is accompanied by a $1,000 cash prize.

Char and Chuck Fowler


C. Ellen

C. Ellen Connally – C. Ellen Connally was a Judge of the Cleveland Municipal Court for 24 years. After retirement in 2004, she served as a Special Prosecutor for the City of Cleveland and Foreman of the Cuyahoga County Grand Jury. From 2010-2014 she was a member of the Cuyahoga County Council and served as its first President. Ellen has served as a Visiting and Adjunct Professor of Law at the University of Akron College of Law and is past President of the Board of Trustees of Bowling Green State University. She is the mother of one son, Seth (an Iraq War Veteran), and lives in the Shaker


Bruce Drennan – Bruce Drennan has been a sportscaster on both radio and television for 40 years. Bruce was the color analyst for the Cleveland Indians from 1980-1982 and has done the play-by-play for the Cleveland Cavaliers. He has hosted his own TV talk show on TV-29 in Akron and was the morning drive anchor at WTAM, where he earned the award for Best Cleveland Sportscaster in 1997 and 1998. Bruce was inducted into the Radio/Television Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 1999. He then moved on to host morning drive talk sports on WKNR. In April 2007, Bruce joined SportsTime Ohio and currently hosts Drennan Live on the network.


Lisa Wong – Lisa Wong is the President of OCA-Asian Pacific American Advocates, Greater Cleveland Chapter, co-founder of the Cleveland Asian Festival, and recently elected Vice President of Communications for the national OCA-Asian Pacific American Advocates. Lisa has worked for the Cleveland Council on World Affairs, The Plain Dealer, The City of Cleveland Department of Public Health, and Minority Business Assistance Center at the Urban League of Greater Cleveland as a Consulting Business Advisor. She is a Cleveland native of Chinese descent and longtime community advocate who was named one of Cleveland's 2017 Most Interesting People by Cleveland Magazine. In her spare time, Lisa enjoys working on film projects, both in front of and behind the scenes, from the Cleveland 48-hour film project to independent films to Hollywood productions, and performing on the OCA Cleveland Dragon Dance Team.

Our three jurors select winners of the awards listed below:

Best Animated Short Award* - sponsored by Reminger Co., L.P.A.

Best Documentary Short Award* - sponsored by Jules and Fran Belkin

Best Live Action Short Award* - sponsored by Anne Bloomberg and Alan Gordon Lipson & Judy Harris

The Clover and Maggie Award: In Celebration of Life - sponsored by Barbara Hawley and David Goodman

The Sammy Award for the Short Film with the Biggest Heart - sponsored by Marcie Goodman

The Spalding and Jackson Award: In Celebration of Joy - sponsored by Marcie Goodman and John C. Williams

*These award winners will qualify for consideration in the Short Films category of the annual Academy Awards.®

CIFF43 Screenings

Tower City Cinemas

Sunday, April 07, 2019 at 11:40 AM

Questions? >


Check out our FAQs for answers to common questions about entering the film festival.

Become A CIFF Member >

Become A CIFF Member

We have six different levels of membership to choose from, so find the one that best fits your film appetite!

Sign up for our email newsletter

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
  • youtube
  • flickr
  • alexa
  • foursquare



Sign up to receive news and updates


No thanks, maybe later.