Cleveland International Film Festival } March 22 – April 1, 2023 } Playhouse Square

Shorts Jury Awards Program

Year: 2020
Country: International
Run Time: 90 minutes



Erika Anthony – Erika L. Anthony is the Executive Director of Ohio Transformation Fund (OTF). OTF is a collaborative fund developed by national and local funders advocating for healthy communities and an equitable democracy across Ohio. Prior to OTF, she served as the Vice President of Government Relations and Strategy for Cleveland Neighborhood Progress. Erika is also the co-founder of Cleveland VOTES and Hack Cleveland. She holds a B.S. in Psychology from The Pennsylvania State University and a Masters of Public Administration from the Maxine G. Levin College of Urban Affairs at Cleveland State University


Awatef Assad – Awatef Assad is the Risk Manager for Cuyahoga County. She is a member of the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association's Board of Directors and Executive Committee and serves as its Vice-Chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee. She is also a member of the Ohio State Bar Association's Advisory Council on Diversity Initiatives and the Leadership Cleveland Class of 2020. Nationally recognized for her community work on behalf of the Arab-American community, Awatef is the recipient of the F.B.I. Director's Community Leadership, the Arab American Institute's Excellence in Public Service, and the Ohio Civil Rights Commission's "Keeping the Dream Alive" awards.


Sunny Nixon – Sunny Nixon serves as legal counsel to emerging Northeast Ohio tech companies, combining her business experience with an education from Cleveland-Marshall College of Law. Inspired by her late parents, her civic work focuses on elder justice, equal rights, legal advocacy, and the arts, including service on the boards for Brite Winter Music & Arts Festival and InCuya Music Festival. A resident of the Warehouse District, Sunny encourages everyone to explore all that Cleveland offers, including its incredible architecture, museums, restaurants, businesses, and one-of-a-kind lakefront.

Our three jurors select winners of the awards listed below. Many of the shorts are screened and the filmmakers are recognized during this special program. Each award is accompanied by a $1,000 cash prize.

Best Animated Short Award* - sponsored by Reminger Co., L.P.A.

Best Documentary Short Award* - sponsored by Jules and Fran Belkin

Best Live Action Short Award* - sponsored by Anne Bloomberg and Alan Gordon Lipson & Judy Harris

The Clover and Maggie Award: In Celebration of Life - sponsored by Barbara Hawley and David Goodman

The Ophelia Award: In Celebration of Hope Given in Memory of Dakota Ophelia Berg - sponsored by Jim Brumbaugh and Carolyn Berg

The Sammy and Jules Award for the Short Film with the Biggest Heart and Strongest Spirit - sponsored by Marcie Goodman

The Spalding and Jackson Award: In Celebration of Joy - sponsored by Marcie Goodman and John C. Williams

The Tom and Ginny Knoll Family Award: In Celebration of Acts of Kindness - sponsored by Tom and Ginny Knoll and The Knoll Family Fund Promoting Civility and Acts of Kindness of Akron Community Foundation

CIFF44 Screenings

Sunday, April 05, 2020 at 2:30 PM

Accessibility (?)
Closed Captions: No
Audio Description: No
English Subtitles: No

Donate >


Your donation helps fulfill our mission to promote artistically and culturally significant film arts through education and exhibition.

Sign up for our email newsletter

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
  • youtube
  • flickr
  • alexa
  • foursquare



We promise you, it will make a difference!

Give Today